Finding Joy

*THURSDAY, MAY 12, 2011

I am NOT exaggerating when I say the grass in our back yard was knee high! I just couldn’t bring myself to waste gas on the mower when it cost over $90+ to fill the suburban …or for that matter, to use gas to drive down the road to buy more gas just to cut grass that keeps growing! It had to be done however, or live with snakes in the yard.

David always tries to beat me to the job… or Keith. But I’m home, available and I actually like mowing. Call me crazy, but it’s a joy to SEE the fruit of my labor in nice neat lines behind me. Unlike vacuuming or mopping I can see where I’ve been and it lasts more than a few short hours! It’s also a super alone time just me and God and a engine loud enough I can pray and sing loudly without bothering the neighbors 🙂

I’m an absolute mess when I’m through; all sweaty with dirt on my clothes, face, and hair. My hands turn green from dumping the clippings around the plants (like mulch). I also have terrible allergies so I’m constantly blowing my nose and wiping my eyes – it’s all rather pathetic.

The point:

Our Bible study workbook has been challenging us (as moms) in our jobs, to do them joyfully as unto the Lord. I find it interesting that it seems to be tied to my attitude of heart. If I purpose to be content and do what lies before me today with joy… that joy spills over onto the next job and the next. Today is my house cleaning and next on the list are the toilets… hmmmm

I hope today (and tomorrow) you will purpose to find joy in what lies before you.

“Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again- rejoice!” Phil. 4:4

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

