Godly Emotions

I find it fascinating to study the human-like expressions that apply to God. You can find God displaying many emotions in response to his people:
dread(Deut. 32:27), grief (Gen 6:6), jealousy (Ex. 34:14), determination (Jere. 44:26), contempt (Ps. 2:4) Delight with gladness/rejoice with songs! (Zeph. 3:17) .

He made us in His image and our emotions are from Him, but still it amazes me to read that we affect Him so deeply. The Great God of the Universe is intimately aquainted with all my ways” (Ps. 139:3 NAS). I love the verse in Zephaniah where it says, “He will be quiet in His love. He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy.” (3:17 NAS) What makes Him love me so? What makes Him rejoice? Can I make God sad? Can I make God mad? Is it also possible to grieve Him or distress His Spirit?

  • John 3:16 simply states it as a fact- God loves the whole world.
  • His love is proven in Jesus. (1Jn 4:9)
  • He rejoices when we love one another. (1Jn 4:12)
  • And His grief comes by how I choose to behave sometimes: “Do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, He has identified you as His own, guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption.” (Eph. 4:30 NLT)

God never leaves me just wondering what causes his grief and sorrow; verses 31 & 32 spell it out. I am to get rid of all: Bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words, slander and all types of evil behavior. Then add kindness to each other, being tenderhearted, and forgiveness as Jesus forgave me. And when (daily) I fall short?

  • “In Him (Jesus) we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that He lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.” (Eph. 1:7 & 8 NIV)

God knows me. He understands me. He provided a way for me to be saved and I am “identified as His own”. What an awesome and feeling God we serve!

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

