Praying for Success

“Please, LORD, please save us. Please, LORD, please give us success.      Psalm 118:25

Do you pray for success? I’ve put it down on paper as a focus for this month. I’ll let you know what happens.

I know some folks who might say, “After all ya’ll have been through, you deserve it.” Some moments I want to just remind God of everything over the last year or so and roll all in that. Then I think, O Dear, let’s not make what we deserve start being the standard!!! I’m thinking this is not really the issue at all.

There was a time in my life I outright sought fame. Thank heavens, that left me about 24 years ago. I have however always sought success (accomplishment, achievement); run the good race, fight the good fight and all that jazz. The older I become the more I realize how hard it is to measure “success”. It’s really only God Who can say, “Well done” and it mean anything permanently. For the Christian, it’s a lot of plugging along and we’ll have to just wait and see. But is the outcome really tied to my success? If I present to Him 6 faithful children that serve God, or a husband who feels loved and supported in all he does, is that my success standard? Or is it the heart that was willing to serve and the mouth that was used to speak truth? Success seems to involve a whole lot about my attitude when no body’s looking.

God knows my heart and what I long for success in. He knows I could careless about having anyone remember my name, but if they do I’d rather it be for something positive than negative! He knows I want to feel useful and to bring Glory to His matchless name. However He choses to bring that about is really His business… since I’m just the lump of clay 🙂

“Lord, You know I am praying for success this month. Not just for me, but for my whole family. Show me what that really means. It’s good to have a focus and a goal. You are my focus and goal! This is certainly not about what I deserve… I can thank Jesus for that! Use all this clay and make something beautiful in Your eyes, Anna”

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

