Blooming Contentment

My mother always told us girls to “bloom where you’re planted”. She meant wherever God put us, grow and be something beautiful. I used to envy very much where other’s had been “put”. I wanted a transplant! Then I got a little older and learned that God was the one who had assigned me my portion and my cup, “The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; yes, I have a good heritage.” (Ps. 16:5 & 6). I wanted that kind of contentment.

If I were to ever find it, I realized it was going to have to happen right where I had been planted. Surely the God of the Universe knew what He was doing! About that time, I picked up on Elisabeth Elliott’s daily programs for women and learned too that God does not make it difficult to follow Him; He remembers we are sheep who need a good shepherd.

“But for those who are righteous, the way is not steep and rough, You are a God who does what is right, and You smooth out the path ahead of them.” Isaiah 26:6

I am thankful for my mother’s words repeated so often to her girls. She was right. Finding contentment begins with knowing that today, God has placed me right where He wants me to be. He didn’t make a mistake. He won’t let the path become too steep or too rough to follow Him. He has even smoothed it out a bit.

And always, always He offers a spot just for me to bloom where I’m planted. -A

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

