Reconstruction and Road Work

Every time I pull out of my neighborhood I am confronted with a major road work project. The mess has been tremendous, only sometimes can I see a little improvement. It’s particularly interesting to watch as they move through the process of straightening out a sharp and dangerous curve. Just when I think the workers might be close to finishing, another huge pile of dirt is created. Over the last few weeks these piles have come and gone. For a while I wondered if anyone really knew what they were doing out there.

Something similar has been happening right in my own home. A few years back, when my now 15 year old was 12, a youth leader gave me a CD that said something to the effect that most teens are in a “reconstruction” phase of their lives. What looks like total chaos and a mess of habits is their way of reevaluating and rebuilding on their own foundation. I was told  it could look like everything was being thrown out; complete destruction! I was not to despair however (hah), this was a good thing, each child needs to make his faith his own.

My, my, what prophetic words. I have seen this “phase” show up with 2 of my children so far (interesting how kids raised in the same family can be so very different!). The CD left out what a painful experience this could be. All my hard work, all my efforts were being weighed… and some of them were getting tossed! Why couldn’t these teens simply trust, that what I had taught them was best?

Just like the road with the dangerous curve, I see a little progress being made. I’m even seeing a form take shape. It’s slow to be sure and these “piles” of “dirt” appear that somehow get worked back into the whole picture. If I can step back and look at it objectively… it still looks kinda messy. Sometimes I wonder if there’s a plan going on, but Paul told us there is:

“And I am convinced and sure of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in you WILL continue until the day of Jesus Christ [right up to the time of His return], developing [that good work] and perfecting and bringing it to full completion in you.” (Philippians 1:6 AMP)

“Thank you Lord, that You are working within the chaos.There is a plan and You are using all the mess for good somehow.  You never start a project and then quit. That simply amazes me. I’ve seen You do this in my own life and it’s nothing short of miraculous! To You be all Glory as we wait. -A”

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

