So What About Success?

I prayed all of last month for “success” for our family. I also prayed that God would show me just what that really means. I have learned some of what it doesn’t mean. It doesn’t mean I get “yes’s” to all my prayer requests 🙂 I did however begin to notice that I was looking for even the smallest signs of accomplishment in everyone, which in turn brought about more praise for good deeds and kind words and had a chain reaction in everybody!

Funny, the biggest change might have been in me and my attitude toward all the folks in our house. Mom’s are the number 1 fan right? If I’m seeing every tiny stride for godliness (intentional and unintentional) that must help in the whole demeanor of the family… we all know how attitudes are catching.

So all in all I am learning that success is when we strive for God’s will (seek first His kingdom…) in our character and actions. I’m also seeing that to succeed and achieve takes some of our active participation; a little drive so to speak. The definition for drive is: the will (God gave me) to achieve and succeed. Check out this great verse:

“Though a mighty army (evil) surrounds me (or my family), my heart will not be afraid. Even if I am attacked, I will remain CONFIDENT.” Psalm 27:3

I love that! For this next month I am praying for confidence in my heart as I come with confidence before God: full trust (in God), belief in the powers (of God), in the trustworthiness and reliability of a person or thing (I choose God); assurance, even presumption. Wow.

I prayed for success for my family and God has shown me that I am to seek “confidence” in Him and His ability to give life to the dead and call things that are not as though they are (Romans 4:17). I am encouraged again to pray with boldness and determination for each person specifically. I have a list of their prayer requests in my journal. I just asked them. Now I will pray each day for the next 30 days for what’s on those lists and for God’s will be done, above all else.

Come join me. Ask your family members what they’d like for you to pray for specifically/personally, and add in the needs you see. It will be a joy to watch God do His amazing thing! Confidently come 🙂 -A

This entry was posted in Children, Marriage, Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

