Fasting

Yesterday I fasted. Let me tell you why.

When I get myself into a rut of day after day praying over a particular situation that remains unresolved, I can feel my mind being over-taxed and burdened to the point of distraction. It can become nearly debilitating for me to wrestle continually in prayer over a particular need. I think it borders on idolatry, because my mind is taken over. That’s when I know it’s time to stop everything and fast. Somehow changing up this one factor (of not eating) quiets my mind. For me, this is where the battle lines are drawn.

“We live in this world, but we don’t fight our battles with weapons of this world. Instead,we use God’s power (the Holy Spirit) that can destroy fortresses. We destroy arguments and every bit of pride that keeps anyone from knowing God. We capture peoples’s THOUGHTS and make them OBEY Christ.” ( 2 Corinthians 10: 3-5 CEV)

The result of fasting (for me) is truly in peace of mind, heart, soul. I can’t tell you the difference it makes. My focus every time I felt hungry was to stop and pray over the concern. I have been doing that all along, but the outcome yesterday was a resting, tranquil heart.

Today nothing extraordinary happened, the situation has not changed that I know of, but the residual peace that God IS woking is simply glorious! Confidence in God as I capture my churned up mind and MAKE it obey Christ. Confidence that by the Holy Spirit working His good will in me, I am destroying strongholds and taking down any prideful arguments in a battle my human eyes can’t see.

“Lord, help me to remember to not wait so long, but to set aside a time of fasting and prayer before I get my heart in such a state. Remind me often of what You said in Isaiah 30:15, ‘Only in returning to Me, resting in Me will you be saved. In quietness and confidence is your strength…’ Thank you for peace of heart while I wait, -A”

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Children, Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

