The Joy God Gives

On my birthday this year a dear friend gave me a little flip calendar that sits on my kitchen counter offering me a word for the day. One particular day in January that seemed full of more challenges than I had the strength to face read:

“Why is everyone hungry for more? ‘More, more,’ they say. ‘More, more.’ I have God’s more-than-enough, More joy in one ordinary day than they get in all their shopping sprees. At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, for You, God, have put my life back together. Psalm 4:6-8 The Message

A word aptly spoken is a balm to the heart. I needed that reminder of the JOY that’s mine in simply knowing Jesus as my personal savior, who walks beside me through all of lives struggles. Nothing else can give me His amazing peace and rest. I think I’ve forgotten what it’s like NOT to have that continual joy- even in the midst. My heart aches for anyone who doesn’t know it!

I’ve recently been put in a situation on a weekly basis where I’m around a more “searching” group of folks. It seems they don’t know  the hope and peace and rest God offers, at least I don’t hear them talk about. I don’t see any joy. What a gift I carry inside of me. It’s been a good change of perspective and a spontaneous bubbling of thankfulness to my Father for His unfailing love that’s available to everyone. I’m freshly amazed… but isn’t that what I was praying for? I asked in the month of January “to know God’s unfailing love; to wallow in it and be so full of that love, that it would ooze out of me and onto others.”

God has answered my prayers!

“From the bottom of my heart I thank You… You’ve always been great toward me- what love! You snatched me from true brink of disaster!… You, O God, are both tender and kind, not easily angered, immense in love, and You never, never quit.” Psalm 86: 12-13, 15

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Spiritual Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

