This Slight Distress of the Passing Hour

Ever think, “This is just NOT what I signed up for?” Elisabeth Elliot tells a funny story in one of her books about a lady missionary getting bumped off of a cart onto the road… as she was traveling about on business God had called her to do. She apparently sat there in the mud and told God something to the affect of, “If this is the way You treat Your friends, then it’s no wonder You don’t have more…”

I love that story and feel that God and I are tight enough at this point that we can laugh together over it! I have been feeling a little bumped off into the mud of late…. and I’m not sure I appreciate times like this in my life being called a slight distress or small potatoes!

17For our light, momentary affliction (this slight distress of the passing hour) is ever more and more abundantly preparing and producing and achieving for us an everlasting weight of glory [beyond all measure, excessively surpassing all comparisons and all calculations, a vast and transcendent glory and blessedness never to cease!],”2 Cor. 4:17 (AMP)

or in modern English:

“These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us. There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.” 2 Cor. 4:17

Either way, I got it. It’s not about what I see, it’s ALL about what I DON’T see. I love how Nancy Leigh DeMoss puts it: “There’s a wonderful truth that’s sometimes hard for us to grasp. That is that God doesn’t make any mistakes. Other people sometimes may make serious mistakes that affect our lives. But God is always fulfilling His eternal purposes, and they can’t be stopped by any human failure. If we’re in Christ, our lives are in His hands, and nothing can touch us that hasn’t first been filtered through His fingers of love.”

O Father, help me to dwell on this truth as I sit here in the mud wondering what in this world You are up to. You are my loving Father and I will stay forever Your friend -A

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Children, Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

