God Our Enabler

God is my enabler! Paul writes quite a bit about it. I searched the various forms of the word in my Bible and it came up again and again.

Two of my favorite verses were: “So we keep on praying for you, asking our God to ENABLE you to live a life worthy of His call. May He give you the power to accomplish all the good things your faith prompts you to do.” 2 Thessalonians 1:11 and “And because of His glory and excellence, He has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that ENABLE you to share His divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.” 2 Peter 1:4

Enabling is a term with a double meaning. Lately I’ve been hearing about it as a negative in which someone unconsciously perpetuates negative behavior in another person’s life… with the best intentions of course. Yet God, in all of His wisdom, power and mercy uses it in my life as a positive. He enables me beyond anything I can muster up for myself, giving me both the His power and His promises to escape the world’s corruption and to act on what faith prompts me to do.

What does faith prompt me to do? Love. In my own power, following my own promptings… I would be a negative enabler. But with God through His directing of my spirit, I can be a positive encourager that others really do need.

Thank God Who calls unworthy vessels like me, to good works, enabling us to share His divine nature and love as Jesus loved.        

“It is God who enables us, along with you, to stand firm for Christ.” 2 Corinthians 1:21

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Practical Life, Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God Our Enabler

  1. Nancy says:

    You are the most positive encourager I know and I know we all learn so much from you!
    Thanks!
    Nancy

    Like

Leave a Reply

