Pancakes..and a side of Jesus

” This is a large work I’ve called you into, but don’t be overwhelmed by it. It’s best to start small. Give a cool cup of water to someone who is thirsty, for instance. The smallest act of giving or receiving makes you a true apprentice. You won’t lose out on a thing.” Matt 10:42

Our first-born son has this unique talent for attracting strays. Not animals… but kids 🙂 Since he turned about 11, we began to notice a steady stream of boys following him into our yard and into the house. It didn’t seem to matter the age or social status. Soon we were over-run with boys eating and sleeping in our home.

 

 

 

Now as you can imagine, there were positives and negatives attached to the above statement. Other than noting the extra cleaning and food bill, I’ll focus on the positives. It was an opportunity to give a cup of cold water in His name. It became “my ministry” for a time. I was “Momma E” to several boys and they filled my heart and prayer-time up!

In hind-sight, my husband and I were VERY naive in our trusting big-hearted ways still, it remains true that ANY labor offered in the name of the Lord is NEVER wasted or of no purpose! I believe God took our small offerings and multiplied them. I don’t know where some of those boys are today, but He does. He heard all of my prayers and used them for good. I trust Him on that.

Today, I again have a steady stream of young men flowing through our home. New faces that sleep on our couches and eat at the kitchen counter. Again, they are here because of that same child. This time I am a little older and a little wiser. Although I dare say, some of my friends think I’m nuts, there’s a bit of method in the madness this time around. What hasn’t changed is my heart to minister to these souls and share a bit of Jesus with the pancakes. It’s an incredible opportunity to tell someone, “God loves you, Jesus died for your sins and He is the ONLY true Hope to tie to.”

For pancakes or homemade chocolate chip cookies, they’ll listen and God will use it for seed in their hearts. A small act of giving… a cup of cold water… a ride. He’ll use it. Each prayer is precious to Him because He knows the heart behind it. I hold onto the promise, “You won’t lose out on a thing.” -A

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Practical Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

