Acceptance

Acceptance was the topic of the teaching this week at church. It’s on my mind, but that’s nothing unusual. I think about it a lot. My husband looks at me from across the room and mouths, “Your beautiful.” I feel self-conscious all of a sudden and I half smile back. He knows I didn’t believe him. I’m thinking of the veins and wrinkles and dimples I hide. He tries again. Even after nearly a quarter of a century together I still find it hard to accept his words. Maybe because of all the times in the past where I know I wasn’t acceptable, possibly was told I didn’t meet the standard. How we remember those… far more than the many times we have heard the positives. How is it the negatives carry the greater weight? Silly me, I know better and who cares what the “standard” is? Who set it anyway? I am loved. Yes, by my husband, but more importantly by my Father. I am loved with an everlasting love, a love that transcends all understanding and reason. The Wondrous Gigantic Creator of everything loves little ‘ol me! Can any words be sweeter than Romans 8:30 with “me” inserted in place of “them?”- And having chosen (me), He called (me) to come to Him. And having called (me), He gave (me) right standing with Himself. And having given (me) right standing, He gave (me) His glory! I am accepted. I have been made acceptable through Jesus, no matter the standard, no matter my own opinion. I am loved through and through. My Father calls me beautiful in His sight, and miraculously He has given my husband eyes to see what I can’t. I turn and tell him how much I love him and how much his words mean to me. I’m both humbled and thankful that I am not my judge, all former judgements mean nothing. In acceptance lies peace. In the knowledge of God’s great love I can accept other love. Secure, held, full to overflowing.

“God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who He is, and we know who we are: Father and children.” Romans 8:16 The Message

This entry was posted in Marriage, Practical Life, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

