My Mouth 4/2/11

* WEDNESDAY, MARCH 2, 2011 9:04 AM,

“Lord, set a guard over my mouth, keep watch over the door of my lips. Psalms 141:3”

With pressure building from so many circumstances… I let somebody “have it” today over something really stupid. I should have had more control and held my comments for another time… By God’s grace, I kept my mouth shut after that.

Even when I’m not overwhelmed with life, my mouth can be a problem. I love to talk. Like I tell my kids, “It has been my biggest asset and my greatest downfall.” I’ve always felt the book of James and all is “tongue talk” was written for me.

Being around my quiet David only underscores how much I seem to say! He has this plaque that reads, “A man of few words has few to take back.” Ouch. Obviously a woman of many words, better watch out! When I was a young mom, pre cell phones, I was pretty isolated at home with babies. Opportunities to talk to other women were rare and phone cords just got in the way of chasing toddlers. I feel like God used that season to begin to teach me how to be “quiet.” I turned off the tv, closed the magazines (we didn’t have internet) and opened some great books.

Being alone gave me a chance to listen and learn. I loved this one old missionary lady on the radio, Elisabeth Elliot. She taught about being a wife and mother using 1 Timothy chapter 5. Paul encourages women to: work for a good reputation, raise children “well,” practice hospitality, serve, help those in trouble and be ready to do good (instead of idle, gossipy or in everybody else’s business).

She loved Titus 2:4-5, “…train young women to love their husbands and their children, to live wisely and be pure, to work in their homes, to do good, and to be submissive to their husbands. Then they will not bring shame on the word of God.” 

What a challenge and a revelation to see I didn’t need to voice my opinion on EVERYTHING. In fact, people would rather I NOT! I really didn’t want to hear all the opinions of others either. I had a specific job to do within the walls of my home and that was enough. Mom’s words, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all” started to sink in… unfortunately they seem to take a life-time to implement.

Proverbs 10:19- “Too much talk leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.”

“Lord, please help me keep my mouth shut… more than open. Give me wisdom WHEN to share my thoughts and opinions. And Father, could my children will not remember all of the times I’ve lost control of my mouth?” –Anna

May I speak ONLY words that are true, words that help, words that are wise and kind.” Proverbs 31:26

Ps- Thanks to cell phones and texting- I cleared the air with my kiddo. I apologized for my rude timing and insensitivity. I told them how much I love ’em -with lots of hearts and xox’s. 

 

This entry was posted in Children, Practical Life, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Mouth 4/2/11

  1. Stacy says:

    All I can say is “thank you. I needed that.”

    Xoxo
    Stacy

    Like

Leave a Reply

