Commissioned

A week ago some of the kids and I had the privilege of worshiping at a small full-gospel church. The worship was free, the message so sincere and the prayer one on one. Never underestimate the laying on of hands! Ben and I went forward to have his recovery group prayed Over. We both share an intense yearning for those kids to know The One and Only Hope. We briefly explained to an older man near the alter what we were asking prayer for, when he decidedly turned and laid his hands on my son. I wondered if he’d understood what I’d said. His words were piercing as if he were opening up my personal journal and reading my private notes.

He commissioned our 16 year old to go and share God’s love and hope in the “field where God had planted him.” He called on the Holy Spirit to” boldly equip and use this young man just as he’s been made”… Because God “will use him exactly as he is with these people who understand him.” I was amazed… my heart was being spoken out loud by someone I didn’t even know.  If only I could somehow show you the pit from which this kid came! Tears flowed. Sweet Ben had such a positive response, but I knew he was thinking I had set this whole thing up.

Later in the week as I was studying the life of Paul, I came accross a similar commission for another young man. He too was uniquely qualified and prepared for God’s service. A young man from a Jewish and Greek home, trained under Paul and set up as a pastor in Ephesus (not the easiest task!). Timothy’s unusual background also gave him insight into the lives of the people he was called to minister to.

God’s so like that! He wastes nothing, uses everything… always, always preparing us even before we realize it. I am watching a miracle unfold, a huge miracle to me. God is bringing to fulfillment all the verses and longings I prayed over this child of mine. And I’m beginning to realize, it wasn’t so much my prayers that shaped anything at all… it was in those intense moments of prayer that I began to catch a bit of God’s vision for this man’s future. The verses I prayed were laid on my heart by none other than his Creator.

Oh, Lord You are so far above anything I can fathom and yet You let us participate in what You do. Thank You for the incredible mysterious gift of prayer. I love to watch You work! I love most of all that I can talk to You about it. Your unfailing love just keeps coming. If You are willing to use this kid, with all his inconsistent threads,  to be a light in a dark world… surely You will use each of us! XOX In Jesus- A

1 Timothy 4:11-14 “ Get the word out. Teach all these things. And don’t let anyone put you down because you’re young. Teach believers with your life: by word, by demeanor, by love, by faith, by integrity. Stay at your post reading Scripture, giving counsel, teaching. And that special gift of ministry you were given when the leaders of the church laid hands on you and prayed—keep that dusted off and in use.”        The Message (MSG)

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Children, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

