Open Doors

I’ve been so blessed by all of the quilt orders coming in. Who would’ve guessed that there was such market for tee shirt quilts? 🙂 I love sewing, but more than that it’s like an new art project with each one! Every cover is a little different and tells the story of someone’s life. I’m especially touched when creating a bereavement quilt. My mom was right after all… never thrown anything away, at least not favorite things! Hope you’re saving your tee shirts for your kids, even for yourself.

All this creative work has gotten me into drawing again and now painting too. It’s relaxing as long as I’m not too critical of my work! I’m thankful I can easily work these and writing around the things I do for David (answering his phone and scheduling his appointments). I miss my little guy I “nannied” last year, but there’s no way I could’ve blended that as well. God knew and provided a better nanny and playmate situation for him this year.

God has been so faithful to give me work to do. I pray daily for some who are still looking for jobs. David’s volume has been a bit sluggish, yet God continues to put food in the fridge and allow us to open our doors to all the kids that come through. It’s a miracle to think back over each week and count the numbers of folks that have slept here. We have a unique situation, but somehow it works. I am blessed to be a part of this open door ministry… that sometimes feels a lot more like open cabinet! I love these kids that come through our house. My prayer journal is filled with their names. Several have allowed me to “friend” them on FaceBook and even  send them texts of encouragement each day.

I think God is so creative and curious how He works. It’s never been how I expected or anticipated. Usually I don’t see it happening until I look back. Then I notice,”Oh look what He was doing there and look what He has done here.” I’m just willingly along for the ride, hoping (asking) somehow He will use me today as an open door to show His Glory. Anna

John 14:12-1412 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. 13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it! (NLT)

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Practical Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

