Just One

Some days I’m overwhelmed by all that needs to get done; all that I could be accomplishing with the strength the Lord has given me. “Great gifts mean great responsibilities; greater gifts, greater responsibilities!” Luke 12:48 What am I supposed to do with today? Sometimes there’s no choice in the matter, the list is long and life just happens, but other days I have free time and I’m not always sure how best to use it.

I feel a sense of urgency with the time I’ve been given. Maybe it’s because we’ve lived through two near-death seasons in our family, one with my husband’s surgeries and the other with our son’s drug addiction. I realize more than ever, life is such a treasure. I don’t want to waste any of it! It’s become a daily prayer of mine  to seek out what God wants me to do. Yet another exercise in trust is that He will show me and use me as He sees fit.

I try, but I rarely have meaningful one on one time with every person in my house on a daily basis. I certainly can’t reach out to every person that crosses my path. I have found great peace and assurance from several authors and speakers repeating the idea of “just one.” Who can I touch today? I’ve been asking God to show me just one. Then I try to express God’s love to that person in whatever opportunity is there. I’m determined to focus on the present moment and those around me (family, guests, neighbors) instead of always thinking ahead to the next thing on my list. Love just one.. however they can perceive it and give God Glory!

Sometimes He asks nothing more of me than to die to my agenda, just sit with that someone and listen. Other times it’s do or give or serve. Either way, I’m asking to be directed and I’m trusting He will show me just one to love.

“Lord, thank You that You hear us when we call, love us how we come and use us with what we have to offer. Give us each a sense of purpose today for You and show us just one to love in Your name.” -Anna

This entry was posted in Trust and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

