How Far We’ve Come…

Thanksgiving 2012

Thanksgiving this year was a milestone for our family. I hardly made it an hour without tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat. God is truly amazing in all His faithfulness to us. Opening my “Jesus Calling” devotional shows three years of comments on each page: 2010- in the midst of our family being emotionally stressed out by one of our kids… notes of desperation are written “just to survive” David’s long hospital stay and his battle with colon cancer… 2011- surgery again and another pending… I ask God to rescue us from a totally depleted (!) bank account and somehow give us direction for the son who seems so lost to our help… 2012- the painful revelation of our son’s drug addiction, brings incredible healing for him, for my husband (finished last surgery!), for our family as a whole.

Oh God is so good. He never once left us… even when I couldn’t see Him moving. He was there always, always working behind the scenes, stirring hearts and minds, listening to my EVERY prayer. How thankful I am for the trials that we have come through. Without each one I would not know Him as deeply; my Sustainer and constant Hope. God has proven Himself faithful to me again and again. I have a record of, I’ve lived it. When I look into the beautiful blue eyes of my strong son today, I’m completely overwhelmed that he’s alive when he should be dead. Not only was so much evil against him… he was out to do himself in too. Yet God, never relented. He always had a plan and a way. He mercifully saved my husband and best friend as well, so I didn’t have to journey this alone.

How gentle with me, how loving. Step by step, bit by bit, only revealing as much as I could take in at the moment. Yes, it was more than I could handle… way more! But that was the point. My being completely overwhelmed caused me to turn more fully to Him for help and He’s never disappointed me. The waiting, the praying, the longing, the confusion all directed me to Him for Hope- real Hope. And He has done MORE than I could’ve imagined.

As I look around at family and friends this year I felt so utterly rich. Rich to know His Grace and Mercy, rich to know His love, rich to know the amazing God of the Universe Who cares for us, His creations. Put your Hope in the LORD, He will not disappoint, He longs to prove His love to you. Our God IS faithful. How do I know? See how far we’ve come.

“Praise God, everybody! Applaud God, all people! His love has taken over our lives; God’s faithful ways are eternal. Hallelujah!” Psalm 117: 1-2 The Message

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

