Easy to Please

I wonder sometimes if I am doing all that God has created me to do. I’ve wondered if my life is pleasing to Him or if what I do on a daily basis ever ranks with all the amazing self-sacrificing deeds of other Believers. My life is pretty easy compared to some. Outside of our country, It’s luxury on any scale! What is it God is looking for anyway? 2 Chronicles gives me a clue:
“The eyes of the LORD search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.” (2 Chronicles 16:9 NLT)
The words of Jesus offer me another:
“Jesus replied, ‘You must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.” (Matthew 22:37, 38 NLT)
But what does it look like for me to be committed to God or to love Him with all my heart? Job, Noah and Abraham seemed to get it right. They each: believed God was out there,
they believed He ruled over everything,
they decided to trust Him with their lives.
I think nothing pleases God more than our trust that He is, He can, and He will. We bring Him the greatest joy when we voluntarily sink our teeth into the hope of all He is and all He has to offer. Everything else is secondary! This is far more pleasing to God than our occupation or even our mission in life. It’s the heart He’s after… a heart that longs for Him. There’s NO greater gift we can give.
“I may give away everything I have, and even give up my body to be burnt — but if I have no love, this does me no good.” (1 Corinthians 13:3 GNB)
“Three things will last forever-faith, hope, and love-and the greatest of these is love.” (1Corinthians 13:13)
Jesus explained what pleases God, 1st and foremost it’s our freely given love to Him…. everything else will follow after.
Thank You Lord that You’ve made it easy to follow after You, even to please You. You love our seeking hearts and always answer the search with greatest reward… You! -A

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

