The BIG Salad

 

Day 19: IMG_3417Because I’ve been asked, “What’s in your salad?” Here goes: 4-5 leaves of kale, a handful of spinach, 2 romaine leaves, a chunk of cucumber, small carrots, some colored pepper,1 mushroom, half an apple, 4-5 beans, bit of onion, some fresh parsley or cilantro, shredded cabbage, squeeze of lemon, green onion, 1 celery stalk, and a stem of broccoli & cauliflower. Then I take the beloved kitchen scissors and start chopping! Sprinkle on “chia” and “flax-seeds” add some Annie’s dressing… and I’m DONE. Today I was out of Bok-choi and tomatoes 😦 I love both!

I have found it’s not that expensive eating this way. I don’t buy organic and I only use a small bit of each veggie, so there’s always some left for tomorrow. I probably go through kale the most. A “bunch” a day for $1.40. The first 5-6 leaves are cut into my salad. The other 5-6 leaves are used in a “smoothie” in my food processor with some “mixed frozen fruit” and a splash of almond milk. It is a bit pulp-ie unless you happen to own a VitaMix (a high-power blending machine). Some days I literally run over to Marianne’s (baggies in hand) and use hers. The smoothie (like juicing) packs all the nutrients of another salad into one easy drink. I like smoothies better than juicing because there’s no waste; you get the whole food.

As far as the whole grains encouraged on the Eat To Live program, I’ve stuck pretty closely to oatmeal made from freshly rolled oats, long-cook brown rice or muffins made from gluten-free flour. The flour is easy to grind yourself if you have a mill, and a lot cheaper than buying it at the store! Below I’ve included a link to free on-line gluten-free baking classes. Bread Beckers sells all of the needed grains as well. Great store!

http://www.breadbeckers.com/store/pc/Gluten-Free-101-c214.htm

Let me know what you do and what you like…. maybe I’ll learn something new.   Eat something green 🙂 Anna

 

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The BIG Salad

  1. Espirational says:

    YUM!!! Now that’s my kind of salad!

    Like

  2. salad looks good, I also like a salad with many vegetables but not a lot of each. It makes for a coulourful nutritious salad with plenty of flavours

    Like

Leave a Reply

