Taste and See

“Taste and see that the LORD is good, Oh the joys of those who take refuge in Him!” Psalm 34:8

Who doesn’t love to taste something delicious or see something beautiful? I so appreciate that God uses these 2 senses to describe Himself. He understands us. Since He never exaggerates, He must taste completely amazing and be something beyond our wildest imaginings to see. I’m already overwhelmed that the “Lord of Heaven’s Armies” is willing to meet with me wherever I am, much less actually wants me to experience Him and ENJOY His presence.

In Luke 10:42, Jesus said about a woman at his dinner party, “… only one thing is necessary, and Mary has chosen the GOOD part which shall not be taken away from her.” Wasn’t she simply sitting at His feet listening? When I read that I’m encouraged to go and sit with Him and wait to see what He’ll teach me today.

Sitting outside with my phone (Bible app.), pen and journal I begin by asking Him to show me something new, and He always does! When I say, “I want to taste something good, I want to see something beautiful,” He opens my eyes to a new treasure in His word -every time. It’s not “new” like no one’s ever seen it before, it’s just new to me.  A few years ago, a Bible teacher challenged me to try this, and it’s completely woken up my study time!

Jesus encouraged us to be “shamelessly persistent” (Luke 11:8-10) about whatever  we’re asking. I love that! Shamelessly. Persistent. He promises that whoever searches, finds, whoever asks, receives. You know… maybe not in the way we were expecting, but we will receive. And we can always rest assure that whatever we hound God about, He is forever up to our good.

I want MORE of Him… for me… for my family, so I will shamelessly be persistent in asking just that. To taste and to see that He is good and to know the joys He has to offer to those who take refuge in Him. “Thank You, Lord, that I can come, and ask, and receive something new everyday. You are a joy to my soul!” -Anna

My vegetable art-  "celery"

My vegetable art- “celery”

 

 
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

