*Inspiration

“See, God has come to save me. I will trust in Him and not be afraid. The LORD GOD is my strength and my song; He has given me victory.” Isaiah 12:2

Today I’m thinking about my friend. She’s had cancer for a really long time. Not the kind anyone has ever gotten over. However, she not only lives… she thrives! Endless chemo, blood tests and scans. Sometimes painful procedures… and yet she’s cute and sassy and determined to do things herself. I dare you to pick her out of a crowd and label her “sick”-Hah! She fools everyone, mostly because she’s always talking about anything but herself, usually asking how you are or just laughing at whatever. When I think of trials, I think of my friend. When I think of faith, I think of my friend. When I think of trusting God for what has to be endured today, I can’t help but think of my friend. She’s an inspiration. She’s working out her life one step at a time, many, many days in a row. Her cancer is a fact, but it doesn’t seem to be the weight around her neck I would imagine. How does she rise above this dreaded diagnosis and continual irritations? She tells me that God is her strength, that He gives her the victory for one more day. He seems not only to carry her, but to distract her… with Himself, and with other things… like all the people in her life. She’s very caught up with other people!  Amazing.

This is my attempt to put into words a prayer for a lovely attitude like my friend’s:

Lord, help me find: all that’s You, and the Glory You shine, the blessings You bring, the work that is mine.

Lord, don’t let me miss: the treasures You offer, a message to share, moments of worship, Your call to prayer.

Lord, give me Your view: of troubles that come, of trial after trial, and the miracles offered me, mile after mile.

Lord, help me see: Your wondrous works, Your miraculous signs, a word for today, how best to use time.

Girlfriends

Girlfriends

~God, You alone hold the key to what each day holds for me. Let me not waste it!!!  ~Anna

*Inspiration= 1) guiding light, example, model, muse, motivation, encouragement, influence, spur, stimulus, lift, boost, incentive,impulse, catalyst.

This entry was posted in Illness, Trust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to *Inspiration

  1. Nancy says:

    Your blog is spot on about our wonderful friend!!

    Like

  2. We are blessed to know her! Hope no one minded I posted the Starbucks pic from last summer- it’s pretty small 🙂

    Like

  3. This reminds me of someone I know. The Lord was pleased to take her home last year, but to the very end, she loved God and loved others. God is good to give us people like this to inspire us to live for His glory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

