Waiting

Waiting on God is no easy business and not for the faint of heart. Even the folks in heaven have been told to wait patiently (Rev. 6:11). Sometimes it’s been me and Him against the world or the cause and I’ve had the secure feeling of being almost held up. Other times it’s felt more like He’s left me dangling in the breeze where emotions soar and threaten my delicately balanced faith and trust. I know from past experience so much of this battle is lost or won in my mind.  I am what I feed myself.

All that God has offered to me as His child is available for the asking. However, it helps to know what to ask for. When I fix my heart and mind on Him I stay in perfect peace… no matter the storm that rages around me. He stays stable, He stays sure. I just have to choose to soak in the Word when the going gets tough,  repeating scriptures like Psalm 91 with all of it’s wonderful promises. God’s Word is my nourishment; an anchor for my soul. It gives me just what I need to tie too.

This is how I do my walking by faith in the dark (so to speak). How I keep breathing and doing the next thing when things around me appear to crumble (it is not always as it seems!). Another, is asking God to send me encouraging “reads.” Right now I’m listening to So Long Insecurity by Beth Moore and just this morning I all but drank in Popular by Tindell Baldwin. Literally couldn’t put it down!!! God will do that when you ask. He’ll send the most amazing stories… while we wait. He knows we’re needy for encouragement. At least I am! I rarely forget to ask Him daily for a showing of His glory… and grace, lots of grace!

What would I do without Him? He is the One Who not only made me, He “gets” me. He’s the One with the plan and the One making me wait! He’s also the One Who holds the keys to all my hope for the future. He both frustrates and excites me as I think again how I will never understand His ways. Yet, I can unquestioningly trust Him with everything, all of life, even my tomorrows. Thank fully I will never exhaust Him.

Waiting… Never what I would choose, but apparently worth it’s weight in gold.

Guard and keep yourselves in the love of God; expect and wait patiently for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah)–  Jude 1:21

 (trials) “Their purpose is to prove that your faith is genuine. Even gold which can be destroyed is tested by fire; and so your faith, which is much more precious than gold must be tested, so that it may endure. Then you will receive praise and glory and honor on the Day when Jesus Christ is revealed. 1Peter 1:7

Sarah Waits

Sarah Waits

This entry was posted in Practical Life, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

