A Balancing Act

The alarm sounds at 6am… before I’m fully awake, I thank God for a new day. I silently ask Him to help me with whatever is ahead. Which day is it? One that I care for my parents or am I near home, caring for my family and friends? Either way, it will be full! “God give me strength. Make me a blessing.” Up, in workout clothes, coffee on, I get all the kids off to school, then the race begins… workout, shower, dress and drive.

Life sure is different from the days of babies, toddlers and homeschooling. Precious moments of 24/7 busyness inside our home. Today everyone is so independent… and so spread out.

As I’ve mentioned before, my parents are now in my “care-giving mix.” My time (and attention) is divided between their house and ours. Recently our daughter, Sarah moved for college and I lost my weekly helper. God, however has graciously provided in our son, Ben. He’s stepped up to take on 3 days a week with his grandparents. What a blessing!

It’s all a balancing act! God is director and we are His players. So much needs to get done, but He knows our limits and so we can trust His choreography. There always seems to be enough time for what He really wants accomplished. So much more than simply pawns in His hand, He is intimately acquainted with all our ways (Psalm 139:3) and genuinely interested in every detail of our lives (Psalm 37:23). We are each so deeply loved.

New chapters in life bring “different,” but they make us flexible, pliable. They stretch and grow us. It’s these new normals that keeps us from becoming stiff and stale. Ah, to be used, to be useful in the hands of God. This is our purpose. Life changes, yet He stays the same. His ways are mysterious, but I have found they are always, always full of grace.

To Him be the glory for the beautiful balancing act! – Anna

“My life constantly hangs in the balance, but I will not stop obeying Your instruction.” Psalms 119:109   🙂

Morning

Morning

This entry was posted in Children, Marriage, Practical Life, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Balancing Act

  1. LizC says:

    I enjoyed this metaphor: I trust His choreography. Quite powerful imagery for a dancer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

