Addiction Recovery

Today our precious son turns 18, an adult. It’s a miracle! Two years ago we wondered if he’d still be alive. He confesses he never thought he’d see 18. But God (!) has this amazing way of messing in our stuff, changing up our little destructive journey and creating life.
When things were rough (ugly) a few years back, I made a Hope Jar (it’s in the old posts). I began to track any little hopeful action/attitude I saw in our son by putting pennies in the jar. Then when I was feeling particularly hopeless about his situation I could walk over to the jar, shake the pennies and be reminded, God was doing something.
I held on to some verses back then as well, writing these on cards I placed here and there in the house, car, purse etc,,, (I need a lot of encouragement). The words come from Romans 4:17-18. Read them slowly- this is regarding the human father of our faith!
…because he dared to trust God to do what only God could do: raise the dead to life, with a word make something out of nothing. When everything was hopeless, Abraham believed anyway, deciding to live not on the basis of what he saw he couldn’t do but on what God said he would do.” (Romans 4:17, 18 MSG)
Amazing faith Abraham had! I held on to his faith when my faith became dim. He believed God for so much and God marked him righteous because if it.
I decided to grab hold of God with both my hands and not let go. And you know what? He has not disappointed me yet. I’ve been surprised many times, but all my disappointments have been premature or short-sighted.
God is faithful, don’t give up! I grieve with those we know who are still living in the insanity and chaos of addiction, but know God is able to bring life. There is hope! – Anna

IMG_1262

Freedom

This entry was posted in Addiction & Recovery, Children, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Addiction Recovery

  1. pcobb0 says:

    God is in the restoration business! So happy to see that your son is doing well. Blessings to you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

