Happy Health- Goodbye Scleritis

Wow! January of last year I was just beginning my experiment with veganism …after suffering some terrific pain on the left side of my face.
My self-diagnosis ranged from sinus infection to a long overdue root canal.

Both were wrong!

My husband had the idea of consulting his Opthomalogist. An lemail with photos of my eye resulted in an emergency appointment on a Sunday afternoon (thanks doc!)
Diagnosis: Scleritis. No cause, No cure, just control… by steroid :/
2 months later, my eye was clear and pain-free, but the side-effects from the meds overwhelmed me. I had to get off that stuff!
Dr. Fuhrman’s Eat To Live (an immune boosting diet) saved my health. A full 60 day Vegan fast turned into a new way of eating and viewing food. It’s our God-given pharmacy!
Today I enjoy a primarily plant-based diet full of taste and variety. I ammostly meat-free, gluten-free and dairy-free (with occasional exceptions). My daily goal is to exercise, be GMO (processed food) free and cut out sugar! Some days i am more sucessful than others….sugar usually being the culprit!
Considering which foods will keep my immune system strong and Making sure healthy snacks are close by help me toward my goal. Trying a new recipe each week motivates me also.
Information abounds for anyone interested in improving their health! Pinterest has been a great source of recipes for me. Also check out: healingstrong.com. It’s just not as daunting as I once thought. My son (17) is learning a lot about eating vegan.as he tries the Daniel fast for 21 days!
How about beginning with just a few small changes like: “GBOMBS ” -Dr. Fuhrman’s list of must-haves:
Green leafy veggies
Beans (pinto, kidney, black etc…)
Onions (all kinds)
Mushrooms
Berries (cheeper frozen!)
Seeds (esp; Chia and Flax)

Don’t be shy, pile them high! Happy health to you all. Eat something good, you’ll feel better! 🙂-Anna

Fall Apples

Fall Apples

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Health- Goodbye Scleritis

  1. I LOVE reading stories like this!! Celeste 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

