Moving

Sorting continues… throw out… give away… drop off… box up! Day in, day out my mind runs. I’m constantly organizing and evaluating, going through items in my head. It’s hard to turn it off. I have come to know for certain -We Keep Too Much Stuff!

By the time our relocation occurs I hope to have reduced us by half… of everything! It was difficult to let go at first, but seeing all that my parents had accumulated over 57 years (!!!) encouraged me to imagine a lighter load. My 1st release came when I let go of 13 years of homeschool materials. It was like someone opened a floodgate. I didn’t regret it -I actually enjoyed it!

From there I filled up our suburban front to back with “stuff” we had extras of, things we didn’t use and items I just did not want anymore. I gave it to a women’s shelter. They were so grateful. This was becoming fun. I started pulling similar items out of closets and onto the floor (ie: jackets, games, toys…) in piles and asked our kids to pick their favorites. It has started them letting go as well. Load #2 is almost ready.

How does it happen, this accumulation of stuff and more stuff? I think its just bit by bit, holiday, by birthday, by my own purchasing… and having lots of people in our home❤ My awareness is on overload right now. I only hope I will stay sensitive once we get into our new digs!
Feeling a little lighter-Anna

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving

  1. LizC says:

    The Message (for the sacred word and the not-so-sacred translation): “Ah, God, listen to my prayer, my cry—open your ears. Don’t be callous; just look at these tears of mine. I’m a stranger here. I don’t know my way— a migrant like my whole family. Give me a break, cut me some slack before it’s too late and I’m out of here.” (Psalm 39:12, 13 MSG)

    Like

Leave a Reply

