Together-finally

24/7! That’s what it’s been since returning from the hospital and picking up a moving truck! We have not stopped moving- literally (except Easter Sunday & that was more from exhaustion than anything else).
Our family cleared out our home (mostly…) in south Forsyth county. We cleared out my parent’s home in Atlanta (-only what they wanted) and carefully arranged the whole big mess in one house in north Forsyth county- whew!!!
When my husband & were late arriving last Saturday, to make the actual transfer of my parents to the new location… I thought all was a bust! It was dark by the time we left their “old” driveway. They were ready for bed. We forged ahead as bedding had already been loaded. When we finally arrived at the new location and all was revealed for the 1st time (!!!) the tears flowed. These were the first tears of the trip however. There had been some sadness earlier that day with old neighbors… but we suddenly realized there had been NO mournful good-bye down the driveway.
Only God could’ve arranged that. It was not our plan to be so late with everything.
All to say: they are in! We are in! The deed is done and truly God has provided on this mountain He has called us to. We are learning daily, growing hourly, but there is no doubt this was right and timely.
“Adjustment takes time.” It’s something we all repeat, but this endeavor is a “good thing.” I feel very blessed in my exhaustion to be directed and covered. Days have not slowed down much (still a lot of driving & gathering), but they will.
My husband is well, my parents are safely tucked under our roof and our children are learning about a “new normal” with God’s grace!
Children’s children are a crown to the aged, and parents are the pride of their children. (Proverbs 17:6 NIV)
God has expanded our tents and enlarged our hearts- For Glory Sake! –Anna

20140503-075928.jpg

20140503-075957.jpg

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Together-finally

  1. Nancy says:

    Wow! I know how hard you all have been working to arrive to this point! Don’t know how you do it all…smiles on your face. Well actually I know your atrog faith and sure that is how you do it all!!!
    Nancy

    Like

  2. Thank you Nancy. I could never have done all these things without friends like you… waiting and driving my kiddo! Your support has meant so much XO Anna

    Like

  3. Anna, what a beautiful story God is writing on your hearts. Thank you for doing life with a happy spirit. Please give your parents a big hug from me. Then get a hug back for yourself. Good job, friend. XO Audrey

    Like

  4. Audrey, always the encourager, I will do just that. Come visit if y’all are ever around this way again 🙂 I’m so pleased to see pics of your grandbaby and upcoming marriage for another Hancock! Too cool -Hugs to you all XO Anna

    Like

  5. janiwitt says:

    Kudos to you! We moved my parents in with us about a year and a half ago. We’ve had our ups and downs, but overall mostly ups. I’m glad that you’ve made this decision! Just know that when life gets tough and finding balance with everything & everyone is difficult, I’m praying for you!

    Like

    • You know, when someone tells me their parents live with them, I really stop and feel. It’s a whole new world I had no clue about. There seem to be more and more families doing this… or is it like being pregnant? -Just feels that way 🙂 Thank you for the prayers and kudos to you too! Anna

      Like

Leave a Reply

