Diet For The Tongue

SATURDAY, MAY 18, 2014

James. What a book to study! It gets me every time with all that uncontrolled tongue talk. I tell my two chatty daughters (like me), “Your mouth will be your biggest asset and your greatest downfall.”

Mouths full of words, have this wonderful way with making friends and encouraging folks… and getting in the middle of big messes usually with a big size 9 stuck in the teeth!

I remember listening to Ann Graham Lotz (Billy Graham’s daughter) speak on “sins that christian women sometimes overlook.” She named things like: gossip, envy, jealousy, haughtiness, meanness, preferring one over another, seeing a need and passing by, little lies like exaggerating, hypocrisy, self-centered anger, ingratitude…worry…

How does this word-junk come out of “nice” people? I’ve been thinking more and more about my words… especially after they’ve already escaped :/ How they effect people and how that attitude got in there to begin with!

When it comes to what I eat, I’m pretty thoughtful, but what about the things I gobble up with my mind -through my eyes -and my ears??

I desperately need a well of “good stuff” to draw from when I’m tired and stretched in every direction. Number one EVERYDAY for me, is a heaping dose of Bible reading (or I have my Bible app read to me!), praising music all day long and talking it out with Jesus- usually while I drive!

Beyond that, scrutiny of all other soul ingredients and constantly analyzing if they pass the Philippians 4:8 test…
true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy- is a must…. at least for me.

This season has brought so much change and physical labor. Still in clean-out, fix-up mode of more than one house… along with the dailiness of life, has left me wiped out and sometimes short on gracious words.

Ahh to be constantly flowing with uplifting thoughts and a good attitude for those around me. It takes much effort and forethought! Especially attempting to hold my tongue.

But what a great diet! And well worth the effort for all involved. Thank you James… again.

For Glory Sake! -Anna.

20140518-090524.jpg

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

