Dirty Faith

David Z. Nowell, president of Hope Unlimited, one of our favorite ministries just published a book, Dirty Faith. It’s thought provoking and convicting having everything to do with his work in Brazil among the street children. My husband and I love what this group does! Mr. Nowell’s challenges all followers of Jesus to take up an attitude of compassion and willingness to get involved serving the least of these. I had to put the book down this morning to tackle other chores, but since I’ve got a moment… these are my practical thoughts.

Spending Myself

I don’t want to wash another dish, change their sheets again, or clean that bathroom one more time, say, “No worries, it’s no big deal” or come up with another meal for them -and for my family too… But what if that were me?

So I sweep the floors, tidy the rooms, hang up clothes, put away dishes, wipe off the counters… because someday that might be me.

Say  “yes” to babysit, drive to meet a young mom, take her baby, bring it back. Care, pray for them… because that could’ve been me.

Listen to a life-story, pray for the right words, hold hands, cry, be torn-up inside. Pray together… because if that were me, I’d be broken and lost.

Say, “I love you,” hug tightly, open the door, offer a bed, treat them like my own, hope for the best, don’t be too shocked by the worst, offer something to eat… because maybe I’m just lucky “to have”… or maybe I’ve been strategically placed because He wants me to share.

Care ’til it hurts, give with nothing expected in return, listen, feel, laugh, touch, be available to whoever He brings… because this is what He asks of me.

Can I offer anything less

than at this moment

in this spot

to just be willing to LOVE.

-GET IN and GET DIRTY with your FAITH!

ForGlorySake -Anna

house 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Practical Life, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dirty Faith

  1. LizC says:

    You do this so well for some many.

    Like

Leave a Reply

