Knitting Love

As my son told his story yet again (this time to a group of mommas), I found myself feeling that old guilt of, “Where was I when he did that? – Why didn’t I see what was going on?” Every time he speaks I glean something new from his talk, but I thought I was over all those guilt feelings.

Driving alone in the car later that day my heart felt down-right heavy. God reminded me of all the love my husband and I had poured into our son from the day he was born. Then He gave me the image of a big loom weaving threads back and forth. In my heart He said the threads were love shown day after day. They knit a strong web of trust underneath our child; something for him to fall on in life. This was really cool. I immediately felt better.

Then my face clouded as I thought of our oldest child, Keith who we took in at 18yrs old. His mom had been unstable and dropped the ball when his father passed away. I knew from his story there had been love in his home early-on and continued throughout his extended family, but so many of those core threads were cut at a critical time in his youth. “What then, Lord?” I asked. God again gave me the thought of that giant loom again weaving threads of love day by day, building trust. Wow… He had used our family to repair and build up the net Keith had so desperately needed.

I began to see in a new light other relationships our family had entered. The many addict kids coming through our house to sleep and eat. Having burned bridges with their own families, they stayed with us and got lots of hugs and “I love you”s because it’s always easier to love-on people who haven’t hurt you personally. Then there’s my new friend; single mom, two kids, no family. A fighter through and through. I can’t find much evidence of anything having been knit on her loom by parent-figures. Is there hope for her, Lord? Oh yes! She has already done some knitting of her own, tapping into Jesus’ love. Added to that are all the folks that have reached out to her children, building her trust in God as she is provided for day by day.

My take-away was that God is not limited by bad human decisions. His is the loom, and His is the thread because He is love. Parents may fail, friends may fail, “the system” we look to may fail, but God’s love never fails!

Get ready to be used. The thread of God’s love in your hands will make a difference in someone’s life today.

ForGlorySake! -Anna

loom

1 Corinthians 13:8 Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end]…

This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting Love

  1. Elizabeth Begley says:

    I loved this picture The Lord gave you. Thanks for sharing . Lots of possible applications. You write very well – a gift from GOD that He is using to build me up!

    Like

  2. Liz Chambers says:

    Powerful imagery and, again, thank you for being so transparent with your faith. I wonder what Paul would have done with this imagery, if only he had been around for it!?!

    Like

    • Thanks Liz. You would love Barbara’s honest blog (www.barbaracoferstoefen.com)! She has written about her daughter’s fall into meth addiction and the recovery that followed. It’s important to me that others know this can happen anywhere to any child. We must stay aware and know that God will see us through.
      PS- Not sure on Paul, but I’m guessing he would be too busy to read a blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

