The possibilities of growing old…

I used to think 50 was really old. Now the closer I get to it the younger it seems 🙂 I also used to think I’d know everything I needed to know by mid-life… at least I thought I’d know a lot more than I do!
I felt sure I’d have stronger strengths and lesser weaknesses and feel perfected and accomplished at something.
I’m laughing because that’s just not the way it is. I’m definitely wiser from years of trial and error, but the older I get, the more I realize I need to learn. I’m not feeling much more defined than I did 20 years ago -sorry to burst the bubble of all those younger than me… But It’s just not “figured out” by a certain age.
This is actually a wonderful revelation for me! I’m finding out for myself that God isn’t finished with me yet…. or ever. I’m discovering that I’m as fresh and as young as my latest testing, training, and stretching.

I’m being made ready, constantly.

Even at my age I can be used in new ways. Just think of Moses- he was called at 80 years old (!) full of immense experience after leading sheep around for 40 tedious years.
It’s quite a trip imagining what God is preparing me for… us for, where He could be leading, what’s on the horizon.
For me this is hope. He is not finished designing and transforming until my last breath. There is still lots of new to be had. I’m not stuck (as I’ve felt like on some days), because God isn’t to be hampered. As long as I’m willing, I’ll be groomed for His next assignment… even through the current one.
I love that what we as humans see as disabilities, hindrances and problems, God sees as avenues, doors and opportunities.
Oh to have His eyes and know God only has plans- no matter our age 🙂

ForGlorySake! -Anna

IMG_8826.JPG

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

