Hope For the Caregiver

“Be strong and courageous, do not be discouraged, for the LORD will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

I’ve read this verse countless times, but I never once thought about it the way I am thinking now. I do not feel strong! As a matter of fact my back (and everyone else’s) is killing by the end of the day. It comes from from bearing more and more of my Dad’s weight as he can not bear it. He has changed from walking to barely standing to only sitting – and not straight- in 2 weeks time. It takes 2 people to move him from bed to wheelchair, wheelchair to recliner. He can no longer help with his feet at all! We should’ve taken a course on this, but it has come so very fast. I’m glad for Utube videos to teach us.

I am feeling quite discouraged as each morning brings a new challenge we never considered before. Our family has had to be creative on the spot. Hospice can’t even reach the house before decisions have to be made. I have discovered that a group of people helps! Thank God I had so many kids. Everyone has been on call in my immediate family. Each of the children have put in their strength and creativity in these last few days. Can I shout “THANK YOU” here to my beautiful wonderful husband and family for helping me?!!!!

Yesterday, my Mom had what seemed like a small stroke(?). It was very odd and different from my Dad’s episodes. We all waited (there’s always a lot of waiting when your caregiving). She “recovered” so to speak and we all moved on, but something is different about her. They are both so different. This is difficult and stressful and constantly changing. Nothing to “tie to” as we Southerner’s say. Can’t plan for tomorrow.

And yet… the LORD is with us… with me. Yesterday, today, tomorrow. He does not leave me when it’s messy and difficult or when I’m tired and frustrated. He is not daunted by weight transfers and elderly diaper changes. He’s seen it all (bless His heart) and knows us humans through and through. He has promised to go with me and only because of that, I will go, where He has called, and trust, in His strength to carry us!

ForGlorySake! -Anna

EXCELLENT! devotional by Peter Rosenberger

EXCELLENT! devotional by Peter Rosenberger

This entry was posted in Practical Life, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hope For the Caregiver

  1. Elizabeth Begley says:

    “Regard, treat with honor, due obedience and courtesy your father and mother, that your days may be long in life in the land the Lord your God gives you.” Exodus 20:12 Amplified. This is the first commandment with a promise. God values honoring parents. He promises rewards for it in His Word. “No good thing does He withhold from those who love Him and keep His commandments”. I love you and pray for you constantly. Thank you for caring for Mom and Dad. I pray for your strength, compassion, patience and loving touch to be the Lord’s hands touching them. And may He touch you where you need it to carry on and make it through each day as their loving caregiver.

    Like

Leave a Reply

