Disaster Mitigation

Let your hope keep you joyful, be patient in your troubles, and pray at all times. (Romans 12:12 GNB)

Back in 2010 when my best friend was diagnosed with colon cancer, slammed is not a strong enough word to describe how I felt. Driving down the road soon after, I found myself ranting at God, “How could You let this happen? And to David -of all people! He’s already suffered so much in hospitals as a child… If it had to be someone, why not me? I’m not the bread-winner, and I don’t lose weight as easily as he does!” ...Tears, sighs, frustration.

Traffic was bumper to bumper as I headed into Atlanta to my parent’s home to cook & care for them. How could life just keep moving along on a day like this?!  Straight in front of me was a truck with a sign large and in my face:Disaster Mitigation… in a disaster your Response is everything”

I wasn’t sure what mitigation was but I got the message loud and clear! Was I going to totally lose it and freak out or trust the only One Who could bring good out of a time like this? I prayed right then, “Lord, if this is something You are asking us to walk through, then use it! Use it for all it’s worth. Don’t let anything be wasted of this whole experience. I want to see good somewhere in everyone.” It was a hard and awkward prayer I didn’t know how He was going to answer, but I wanted my response to be Hope that God could and would do something For His Glory.

More than anything else David and I have wanted our kids to find and know God for themselves. We taught them about Him when they were young, but we knew our personal lives were their living examples. Our response to little irritations and even big crisis would testify if we truly believed God was in the Mitigation business.

Mitigation – the action of reducing the severity, seriousness, or painfulness of something.

How does God do this? By taking troubles away? Not always. I think it’s by promising never to leave us alone, by sending others to bear our burdens, by comforting and even lessening our suffering sometimes…. And always by promising to bring good out of “all things.” 

I know now that God is actively working behind the scenes, even when I can’t see anything happening.  When I have felt hopeless, He has remained faithful. He waits for a response from me that trusts in His undying love and care. God did bring good to our family. His love never fails!

ForGlorySake! -Anna

Photo0278

This entry was posted in Illness, Spiritual Growth, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

