Fat Vegan

Three weeks ago as the warm weather arrived… I pulled the old shorts from my closet. I was horrified to find that that they didn’t fit! What??? I fluctuate a bit over the month :/ but have weighted relatively the same since my last pregnancy 13 years ago. I hadn’t been on a scale since my Dr. appointment last summer, so I decided to find one and jump on. Shock & dismay… 15lbs!!! How in the world can an exercising vegan gain 15lbs?!

I Googled “fat vegan” and surprisingly it’s a common topic. The more I read the more I realized my thyroid was sluggish and of course I was to blame for not supporting its amazing functions. The thyroid is the seat of the metabolism and without getting too technical about it, we can eat to encourage all it is intended to do. Gooo Thyroid!!!

I set off on a quest reading about anything pertaining to health of the endocrine system, including all the receptors in the body that take our fabulous little hormones and convert them to fat burning tools. I’ll just say, without ANY crash dieting or extreme exercise, I’ve lost 13 of the unwanted pounds in about 3 weeks! Now that’s really crazy. This was solely my body doing what God had already designed it to do (stabilize) as I cleared the path instead of being a roadblock!

(After everything I read-) Here’s how I began:

  1. Drink a mug of hot water and 2T. of lemon juice each morning, 1st off.
  2. Add a 50 Billion Probiotic daily to detox. Pricey, but really worth the money for at least one go-round.
  3. Eat 4 to 5, 300 calorie meals a day. This is what the thyroid likes best- small doses of nutrition at a time. Pick your own number of meals.
  4. Make sure each meal has about 3 oz of protein included. Yes, I’ve been eating hormone-free meat, fish, seafood. Yellow peas ground to flour (per VEGA) also make an excellent protein powder. Stay at 300 calories however!
  5. Sprinkle food (even smoothies, etc.) with cayenne pepper. About 1/16 tsp daily.
  6. Add 1 T of Apple cider vinegar somewhere. I usually hide it in my fruit smoothie.
  7. Search out these strange and exotic Superfoods that stabilize blood-sugar, and naturally support thyroid function: Yerba Mate Tea, Maca Powder, Sacha Inchi Seeds, Yacon Syrup, Goji Berries. I ordered mine through AmazonSmile. Each was a little pricy, but you’ll only eat a little of them every day… so maybe go in with a friend.
  8. Drop the gluten, white sugar and caffeine from your diet. This was definitely the hardest. Thankfully I had already done the work. For the record, I  only cut-back on coffee! I still drink 1 cup a day with coconut milk… You do what you can 🙂
  9. Add in any coconut products. Coconut is another Superfood Coconut milk, coconut oil, coconut meat, coconut water, coconut flour, coconut sugar. Just make sure to count the calories!
  10. AVOID all raw Goitrogenic foods. This made the biggest difference for me! This list is easily Googled and includes; kale, spinach, broccoli, turnip greens, mustard greens, cauliflower, millet cabbage, peaches, strawberries, pears, pine nuts, radishes, Bok Choy, cabbage, peanuts- etc. (ALL of which should be cooked instead). Soy was the only “Don’t Eat” I could find….I’ll keep looking.

There’s a lot on the “Do Eat” list, but I’ll save that for next time. Here’s a link if you’d like to start your own research. [https://experiencelife.com/article/repair-your-thyroid/]

In the meantime some raw sunflower seeds, seaweed, eggs, molasses and 2 Brazil nuts a day will hold you. Happy thyroid and happy health!

ForGlorySake! -Anna

Another great resource

Another great resource

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Practical Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fat Vegan

  1. Elizabeth Begley says:

    I wonder how this works if you don’teven have a thyroid like me? Talk about a sluggish thyroid! Mine is dead!! I will have to research… Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • I read that those without a thyroid still have their receptors and all of the rest of the endocrine system, so eating this way will only help you convert T4 to T3. But definitely keep reading!

      Like

  2. Deborah Etheriedge says:

    My goodness! What a find. Hope I can incorporate some of this. What kind of fruit smoothie do you make now? Mine has strawberries, banana, kale, …. Your list wipes all of that out. I am at a loss right now. What other kind of smoothie do you have besides fruit? I am losing weight, but very slowly. Your list is hard for me to wrap my mind around, esp. Since I have never tried being vegan. How do you afford the diet and find all of those food items (besides the ones on Amazon)? We need to have a serious talk!

    Deborah Etheriedge

    >

    Like

    • You are really thinking! I’m glad things are working for you. You could just try the “power bites” next…
      For smoothies I use mixed frozen fruit bags (saving the strawberries/peaches out for the kids or cook them a bit bf adding), I skip the kale, add in banana, ground yellow peas, coconut water or milk & a little wheatgrass. Mmmm 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

