It is finished

After a harrowing week of watching another of my parents slowly succumb to death’s tight cords, my mom died May 17th, 2015. I have been caring for her and my dad since 2010.

Death, my dear reader, is not pretty. There was no dignity in what I saw (either time). Without the experienced aid of Hospice staff, I would’ve sunk into utter helplessness. It was a long slow wait for relief that really started as soon as my dad passed February 1.

And then, as quickly as it had descended it was over. Freedom, fresh air, and the beauty of knowing my mom had been released from this world into God’s Glorious Kingdom. I wanted to cry because because it had been a hard birth for her, but just like a new mother forgets the pains of labor in the face of their newborn… I just kept smiling to know she was finally free!

That last week, I told her, her dying was the last “labor” she’d have to deal with. This was the biggie, she was the “baby” and Jesus was just on the other side to receive her. I was only there to assist her as far as I could. She wasn’t able to talk at that point, but she squeezed my hand. 

I think she did a valiant job and I’m so thankful she’s on the other side! With my dad. Some may feel I’m lacking the proper emotions for the death of a parent. Some have even said all I’ve lost hasn’t hit me yet. They may be right. Only time will tell. But today I have Joy overflowing for so many reasons!!!

My parents have run their race and finished well. They left us a good heritage and lots of laughter! They worked hard and provided us with a path to follow Home. We have fun memories and wonderful family connections (if not too many nicknacks :). I have seen death face to face and KNOW for certain it is NOT the victor! 

Life is good- Jesus wins.

ForGlorySake! -Anna 

 

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It is finished

  1. elizbegley@bellsouth.net says:

    Great photo and wonderful post. Hallelujiah for Mom being in heaven. There are no words for the JOY she is experiencing. I am so happy for her!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debby Etheriedge says:

    Glory to His name!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy says:

    Don’t know how you have done it all except with the help if God and your family! I know your parents felt loved!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My dear Anna. I’m so sorry to hear of your mother’s death, yet I rejoice with you in her reunion with your dad in the presence of our God. What a glorious reality she is living in. Oh how wonderful it will be to join them one day.

    May Jesus hold you all close to His heart and bring you continued comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lolly and Sam Van Leer says:

    We are saddened to hear that our sweet friend Ann died May 17. Although we haven’t been in touch for a while we remember all the wonderful times we had together over the years. We will miss our dear friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Your joy will only unnerve those who don’t truly trust the Lord and those who have never watched a parent die a prolonged or difficult death. There is joy in knowing the suffering is over and they are Home at last! My dad’s 80th birthday would have been yesterday and I miss him still but know he’s in a far better place!! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

