Addicted to Hope

I guess it’s fairly obvious that I’m a hopeful person. Don’t misunderstand, I get down just like the rest of the world, but generally I don’t stay there long. I love hope! I call myself a “hope addict”  😉

I’ll do just about anything to change up a rut or scramble away from gloom. Sometimes just the right person will cross my path and sometimes I’ll need to call or visit one of my hopeful friends. Without even realizing it they change my perspective and turn the tide. Folks like these are treasures from God!

Hope is a funny thing, like water to a plant… without it we’ll shrivel up. I saw so many parents who had lost all hope, sit with us in “parent support”  groups for their child-addict. Slowly I came to realize if I looked to anything besides God Himself, my hope too would rise and dive daily.

I can fully hope in God because He calls Himself it’s “Source:” “May God, the Source of Hope, fill you with all Joy and Peace by means of your faith in Him, so that your hope will continue to grow by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

Anything else will eventually shift and change and fail me, but the belief that God is Who He says He is and can do all He says He can do -won’t. Experience has confirmed for me He’s the One Thing I can securely tie to.

Hope to me is that there’s more to come and I shall see it. I will even be a part of it. That change is possible!… for me, for you, for anyone.

Hope that God is using me today and will do it again tomorrow. That He has a plan. That I have a purpose and He has gifted me to accomplish pre-appointed “good works.”

Hope that God will use “this” (whatever it is) for my good and for His Glory. That He is in the business of molding and shaping and refining in ways I don’t understand, but I can trust.
Hope that there is always a point! That He listens and is concerned… but with more than my “happiness” – it’s someone’s heart-change He’s after.

Hope that He loves me more than I can fathom. He won’t leave me or grow tired of me. That He longs to be with me even more than I long for Him.

Hope does not disappoint!

ForGlorySake! –Anna

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth, Trust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Addicted to Hope

  1. Deborah Etheriedge says:

    Hope is a glorious thing. Thanks, Anna.

    Deborah Etheriedge

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

