Breathing Room

“Let all that I am wait quietly before God, For my Hope is in Him.” Psalm 62: 5 NLT “He’s a solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul.” Psalm 62:6 MSG

Like each previous school year, our house churns and swirls with new schedules and plans for 7 individuals. Its exciting and a tad chaotic, but oh, how I love these people that do life with me.

With 1 totally on his own, and 3 in college by this fall (gasp!), my focus has narrowed to the  last 2 girls. Our youngest, midway through middle school has turned out to be quite the little companion after all of the time we spent caring for my parents (and thanks to homeschooling). Actually each of our kids were brought closer to us and to each other through that unique experience of in-home elder-care. They are becoming on the whole our friends… as age permits 🙂

With parents tucked safely in Heaven, I’m back in the swing of working for my husband’s law firm. Days have a bit more predictability now… there’s even time for exercise, art and reading! Isn’t life funny how it can change so abruptly? Truly God is the only solid rock. He is Who I wait on to show me the next path. In Him I find all my Hope… real hope. He gives me breathing room for my soul. Let the ground quake, my feet stand firm!

Last night our beautiful, recovering, post-prodigal child, who serves Jesus with all his heart asked his best friend and soul-mate to share his life with him. My husband and I cried as we thought through all that God had done to bring that moment about. What a good God, what a patient God, what a romantic God. Always more than we ask or think… when we yield… always working on our behalf… when we obey. Patiently, graciously ready, with breathing room for our soul.

ForGlorySake! – Anna

Engaged!

Engaged!

This entry was posted in Children, Practical Life, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

