Uprooting

I love fiddleing with plants and flowers, especially digging around and rearranging. With no formal training …or much guidance, it’s been a tangle of trial and error. Once, I spent a whole year transporting “monkey grass” clumps from my parent’s woods to our house, creating borders around the front, side and back of our yard! 

Most of that project lived, but plenty of other more delicate plants have been killed. :/ One thing I learned was the careFUL handling of roots. Roots are such vital sources of life. They’re like little nutrient-straws that need plenty of room to grow. 

Moving our “Freshman” to college seemed as precarious as one of my transplant operations. I suddenly felt this terrible tearing away of heart and soul. It mattered not that we’d prepared. Ugh, if I’d been a plant… dirt was flying, roots were dangling and I wanted us all back in our same littke spot! 

I swear Labor was easier! Seriously, at least then I came home with something more precious than an empty XL duffle bag used for hauling sheets and towels up 4 flights of stairs. 

My job as “Mommy” has long since passed, sigh.  Even “Mom” has looser  connections… though I still hear it as “needs” arise.  🙂 God is full-time Caregiver now. And it’s up to our son to seekout his own soul-nourishment.

I know, I know the LORD has been on duty for a long time, but I felt a-part… and it’s tough to relinquish a vigilant watch after 17 years!!! I’m finding myself out of yet another job. Hmmmm -there seems to be a pattern here. 

“God of all living things, give this child of ours all he truly needs today in his new spot away from home…. away from me. Thank You for providing room for him to grow and for Your careful most excellent hand as The Gardener. -By the way, I have a big hole that needs filling.”

ForGlorySake!Anna 

  

This entry was posted in Children, Practical Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

