Opened Heart

I read a blog recently “To Whom Shall We Go? http://wp.me/p2cR0v-gq by Tindell Baldwin. She was stressing a bit over how to raise and protect her 2 young children. Her autobiography, Popular is a story of amazing grace, an excellent read for young women and mothers of young women! It fully shares a prodigal child’s run from strong family values and the love that eventually won her back.

I connected with this newest blog of hers because I have so been where she is with all of my precious kids. What mom doesn’t want to hedge-in and protect their babies? I remember stressing over schooling choices, my children’s peers, and even after-school activities. Which ones were healthy, which ones were “safe?” These are all great questions, but be forewarned, there is no perfect formula or plan that guarantees a smooth sailing ride. That free-will thing gets us every time.

Tuesday, I sat with my 2 oldest homeschool buddies. All our kids, now in public schools/colleges are nearly grown. We fought so hard when they were young to shield them. We taught, drilled and thoroughly prepared them as best we could to face the “world” with it’s temptations. Even so… I turned out 2 “strays.” 😉 The thing is those are my extra special kiddos. They have humbled me (greatly) but also opened wider my narrowed vision. They speak a language that speaks clearly to kids like them. My once “prodigals” bring home other “prodigals” for us to love and share family with. My other children are far more gracious because of it.

Forrest Gump was right, life is (…even kids are) like a box of chocolates, they’re all different and you never know what you’re gonna get! It’s a wild and wonderful ride raising children. Hold on to your heart if they’re young, it’s just the beginning. Go ahead and by all means plan, prepare, and pour into them Jesus x10!!! But watch and see what happens, because God is supremely creative and He poured His massive creativity into His finest creature- man. Marvel at the differences, God’s showing His handiwork!

He promises however, that no good foundation is ever lost or good effort (unto the LORD) wasted… NOT EVER! That thing God said about train up a child in the way they should go… is really true. They do come back around especially when they’ve been shown the way. If you’re in the shoes of “waiting for return,” I’ll pray with you for sooner, rather than later. Please remember God is faithful and His lost-and-found kids have been given special rights and privleges to reach other lost kids. You’ve raised someone extra special!

Looking back now, I wouldn’t change a heart-wrenching thing (… I may not have said that 3 or 4 years ago!!) My family is who it is today because of all the past mess and chaos. And I am who I am today, because of how they painfully stretched me. It was in the tearing that my heart opened.

ForGlorySake! – Anna

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. Proverbs 22:6

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. Proverbs 22:6

This entry was posted in Children, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

