On The Move

So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. (‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15‬:‭58‬ NLT)
I’m sitting in the tire store waiting for new treds while thinking maybe we should go into the moving business. It’s due to all the sudden and repeated relocating of this crowd I call “family.”

2014 brought us moving my elderly parents OUT of their 50 yr old home and our family OUT of a 15 yr old home (both had lots of unnecessary junk, just saying)-conglomerating us all (but 1 grown child) INTO a wheelchair- accessable house where I could care for the bunch under one roof! …Our oldest kiddo bought and moved into his own little home near-by (proud parent moment).

A year and a half later: my parents have passed, another 2 children are off to colleges in other cities, our son is getting married and so, moving again is a must. In the midst of these home changes my husband decided to move to a new office location and now I’m working fulltime for him on-site!

After growing up in the same house for 18 yrs… whisking my children about seems really odd. Everything in me resists and yet as with many other transient families, there seems no way around yet another uproot.

Ahhh, the good news is God goes with us. Actually, He says that He goes before us -paving the way, smoothing the path, shedding His light. I can rest assure He’s directing these changes because I asked Him to and… because He loves me.

I’ve wished for written direction straight from heaven, but that’s not what’s come. Instead, He’s given instinct and timing and closed doors (I always pray for those!) and advice and even limitations (like financial etc). Those are super guides that I choose to believe He is directing. Options narrow down and “Voila” -we’ll be replanted in no time, ready to serve from a new base.

Change is never easy, but all things-even moves- work for our good because we love God and have been called for His purposes. 

Ok… now, bring on the boxes!

 My office in progress…  🙂

This entry was posted in Practical Life, Trust and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

