Gifts from Losses

I’ve heard that the 1st holiday following a death is the toughest… Christmas is here and my parents aren’t. They’ve always been a part of our celebrations, and it seems strange not to have them around. Our joy over their final rest definitely outshines any sadness, but still, it’s a loss.  

27 years of marriage has brought a few to our family. Everyone has their own list. All those things you hold dearly and take for granted until they’re suddenly gone. For me, ONLY God has been left to tie to. Total dependence on Him seems obvious and yet terrifying. Why? Because, I know He’s the One Who’s been in control the whole time! When life has looked like a chaotic mess, I’ve wanted to yell “You’re fired!”… yet I decided long ago God is the ONLY One qualified to be my God. I can’t do life without Him!

Again and again in those moments of pain, I dove into the Scriptures. Why would He let this or that happen to us? Can He really be trusted? Did anyone in the pages of the Bible ever feel like me? Each time my soul has been stirred as I read, especially by all that Jesus came to do… because His Father “loved us.” 

My eyes see a bigger picture. God cares more than I can imagine. Yes, He is trustworthy, faithful and with me for the long-haul. Through my “losses” I’ve learned to look for His mercies daily. I’ve learned to thank the LORD anyway and to Trust Him in spite of the chaos swirling. I Hope beyond what I see as I wait for His outcome. Faith isn’t random, it’s specific. I trust in a mighty God Who has held me in the past and is forever gently unfolding His Glory in the present!

“We know that in all things God works for good with those who love him, those whom He has called according to His purpose. Those whom God had already chosen He also set apart to become like his Son, so that the Son would be the eldest brother in a large family. And so those whom God set apart, He called; and those He called, He put
right with himself, and He shared His glory with them. In view of all this, what can we say? If God is for us, who can be against us? Certainly not God, who did not even keep back His own Son, but offered Him for us all! He gave us His Son — will He not also freely give us all things” (‭Romans‬ ‭8‬:‭28-32‬ GNB)
LORD, grant us eyes to see, by Your Spirit.

ForGlorySake!Anna 

  

This entry was posted in Practical Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

