Manna

For more than 10 years I’ve hosted a women’s Biblestudy in my house. What started as a mom’s play group among friends, morphed into a real searching of God’s Word as our kids grew older. We have studied many books of the Bible from several gifted writers and speakers. I love the workbooks that come with these studies. This is where I seem to hear from God the most often.

Our current study is by Jennifer Rothschild (Missing Pieces). She said something this week that has stuck in my head. Manna. Manna was God’s daily provision of food to the Israelites during their wilderness wandering. Jennifer creatively equated this to God’s “daily bread” Jesus said to pray for each day. Since God is our Great Provider, she asked, “What is the Manna (or provision) God has brought into your life today?” and “Like the Israelites, are you so focused on what you’re NOT receiving from God, that you’re missing out on the incredible blessing of what He HAS offered?” Hmmm.

Our family has a lot of change in the air, as I’ve mentioned before. I think I’ve been overlooking the blessing of it all. I just haven’t been able to muster up the motivation to pack. Between working all day and general home-life I feel pooped. I think I’m secretly waiting for the Moving Fairy to appear and blink everything away-hah. God has provided for us again and again through so many stages and issues of life. I can trust He will be my strength again now.  Stacks of boxes and the memory of backache and disheveled-upheaval are no match for the strength He will give me. My reluctance to disturb the peace and quiet at home will not overcome all that He is waiting to pour out on us. He understands… like 2 years ago, this must be done. It IS necessary!

My Gratitude List begins today with: strong arms, legs, and organizational skills. It’s said we are only good at a couple of things in life, so know your strengths! I’ll stay clear of any finances or major house reno. Instead, I’ll take what God has given me today (the good, the bad, …even the messy) and try to remember it All is a provision from Him.

The LORD WILL continually guide me and satisfy my desire in the emptiest of places. He WILL give strength to my bones and I WILL be like a watered garden, like a spring of water who does not run dry! (Isaiah 58:11)

Emptiest of places?? What could be more empty …than an empty house? Have Your way, LORD.

ForGlorySake!AnnaIMG_3665

This entry was posted in Practical Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

