Beautiful Ugly

What is true beauty? Flawless perfection? Honest truth? Beloved memories? The Bible reminds us  skin-deep-good-looks are short lived,  but fear of God is forever gorgeous. The older I get, the more I’m banking on that! 

My husband showed up at a time in my life when I was literally plagued with “the uglies.” He was completely baffled by my desperate grasps at a sickly beauty. His admiration of God’s handiwork in me, made me ashamed of my vain disregard. 

Over the years he further opened my eyes to the appreciation of scars, tiny wrinkles, and those few grey hairs. They are “God-markers” of intervention, provision, even reward. They show we were indeed created in our Savior, and have been about the good works God long ago planned for us. Eph.2:10

On one of my morning excursions, I passed a windy, wet, wild side of the island we visit. The cliffs I found had strange holes and shapes telling a story of years of wear and tear. 

Savage beauty, much like water and wind against a rock. Every body becomes worn and buffeted… yet the results are beautiful. Each little line tells a story, especially around the eyes where we’ve laughed and cried.

This is true beauty.

ForGlorySake! –Anna

  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

